Clerk-Recorder Fee Schedule & Forms


*Effective January 1, 2018, pursuant to SB2, documents accepted for recording at the Sierra County Clerk-Recorder's Office may be charged an additional $75 as follows:

A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75) shall be paid at the time of recording of every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, except those expressly exempted from payment of recording fees, per each single transaction per parcel of real property. The fee imposed by this section shall not exceed two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225).

  • This fee will be calculated per document, with a maximum of $225 based on the number of documents and titles.
The fee shall not be imposed on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer subject to the imposition of a documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier.

  • A declaration of valid exemption must be placed on the face of each document, or on a document cover page, which shall become part of the document, prior to depositing with the Sierra County Recorder. If no valid exemption is declared, the fee will be assessed.
This requirement is being made in accordance with the legislative amendment of Government Code § 27388.1.



Vital Record Amendments

Forms to correct or amend birth, death, or marriage records for events that occurred in California are available online form the California Department of Public Health.




Minor Corrections:

  • An incorrect or missing address of the party to which the instrument, paper, or notice is to be returned
  • Incorrect or missing printed or typed name of individual or entity near the signature
  • Incorrect or missing documentary transfer tax amount due
  • Clarification of illegible text